Department of Biomedical Engineering

Latest news

Prof Dean Ho elected as Fellow of the prestigious US National Academy of Inventors (NAI)

Congratulation to Prof Dean Ho! The fellowship is the highest professional distinction for academic inventors and it will be conferred on 11 April 2019 as part of the Eighth NAI Annual Meeting which will be held at the Space Center Houston in Houston, Texas.

Dr. Alberto Corrias appointed Director of the Global Engineering Programme from 1 November 2018 to 30 June 2020

BME Faculty named in Highly Cited Researchers 2018

Congratulation to Professor Zhang Yong and Professor Lim Chwee Teck! Both of them were named in the Highly Cited Researchers 2018 list published by Clarivate Analytics. They were named under the cross-field category which recognizes multi-disciplinary researchers with substantial influence in several fields.

Dr Andy Tay in Forbes' 30 Under 30 In Science

NUS iGEM Team 2018 won Gold!

Congratulations to NUS iGEM 2018 team for clinching a Gold Medal and being nominated for 3 best awards – Best Manufacturing Project, Best Hardware and Best safety and security!

BME alumnus named EY Entrepreneur Of The Year™ 2018 Singapore

Mr Jeffrey Tiong is the CEO of PatSnap, a global software company used by the world’s leading innovators such as NASA, China Mobile, and A*Star in Singapore. This was announced at the 17th EY EOY awards gala held at The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore where Mrs. Josephine Teo, Minister for Manpower and Second Minister for Home Affairs, was the guest-of-honor.

PhD student received Ray Wu Prize 2018 in Beijing

Congratulation to Ms Lim Su Bin who received the award. The Ray Wu Prize recognizes excellence in life science research by a graduate student for innovation, independent thinking, and dedication. Her work on integrative approaches to precision medicine was presented on at The Ray Wu Symposium.

BME Faculty received NUS Annual Teaching Excellence Award (ATEA)

Congratulation to Dr Alberto Corrias and Dr Mrinal Musib, ATEA recognises faculty members who have displayed a high level of commitment to their teaching. Dr Alberto was also placed on the ATEA Honour Roll for having received the award three times since 2015.

BN3101 team took home multiple awards from EMedIC Global 2018

Congratulation to the team of undergraduates - Frederick Maung, Chen Xi, Nanda Wang and Kim Ki Han - and their mentor, Li Shihao, for winning three awards!

BME Safety Day 2018

BME Safety Day Committee invited Dr Patrick Tan, Director of University Health Centre (UHC), to share his insights on stress.

GCMDRA Class of 2018

The 4th batch of alumni for the Graduate Certificate in Medical Devices Regulatory Affairs (GCMDRA) programme commenced class on 06 Sep 2017 and ended on 21 Jul 2018.

BioBiz 2019 Committee call

The committee call for BioBiz 2019 is open now! Read on to see if you have what it takes

BioBiz 2018

Following the conclusion of BioBiz 2018 on 26 May 2018, three of the Exco members share their hindsights and experiences.

Team NUSSIT won second in Assisted Bathing Challenge 2017

Mr Phang Ye Sheng and Ms Nicolette Tsang from NUS Biomedical Engineering took part in the Assisted Bathing Challenge 2017 as part of a student team with SIT Allied Health students. The competition was organized by ASME and MOH Holdings to design devices to help the bathing process for the elderly and/or the nurses who help them.

BME Welcome and Awards Day 2018

BME Freshmen Tea was held in conjunction with Awards Day 2018. Congratulations to the award winners!

Dr. Ren Hongliang received 2018 IAMBE Early Career Award

Dr. Ren received the award from The International Academy for Medical and Biological Engineering (IAMBE) in June of 2018 at The IUPESM 2018 - World Congress on Medical Physics & Biomedical Engineering, Prague, Czech Republic. There are 3 awardees internationally and Dr. Ren is the awardee for Asia-Pacific region.

Prof Pakorn (Tony) Kanchanawong promoted to Associate Professor

The promotion is effective from 1 July 2018.

BME Commencement 2018

A dinner reception was held at University Cultural Centre on 17th July 2018 to celebrate the new Class of 2018!

Connect with us on Facebook!